Looking back: 2012 TBCA Thanksgiving Tournament

by: Buster Laing,

Although the tournament had its 'Cinderella,'  great moments and new players on the radar, the C. I. Gibson Rattlers out of New Providence were the kings of the court.

Khristen Francis scored 21 points to lead the Rattlers (4-1) past Science Hill, Johnson City, Tennessee 68-60 to capture the 2012 Basil Neymour/Coca Cola Tabernacle Baptist Christian Academy Thanksgiving Basketball Tournament at the Jack Hayward Gymnasium.

C. I. Gibson pressure defence held the hot shooting Hill Toppers to .275 (19-69) from the field and forced 20 turnovers, while they shot .509 (28-55), including 9-17 from the three point line.

The Rattlers trailed 47-46 heading into the final quarter, but outscored the Hill Toppers 22-13 behind Francis' 11 points, which included a big three pointer.

Francis was 8-15 from the field and 2-6 from the three point arc. Carlos Carey scored 15 points and grabbed seven boards.

Shakwon Lewis added 12 points.

The tournamentâ s leading scorer was Science Hillsâ C. J. Good, who canned 30 points, including 8-13 from three point land.

Will Adams added 10 points and Calvin Songster, who scored 26 points in their earlier win against the Rattlers was held to four points.

Francis was named the tournamentâ s Most Valuable Player (MVP).

In the third place game, the host Tabernacle Baptist Academy (3-2), defeated (2-3) the Eight Mile Rock Blue Jays 40-38 behind Robert Joseph 13 points.

Rashad Rolle added 12.

Keanu Woodside scored 18 points to lead the Blue Jays.

14th Annual Basil Neymour/Cocoa Cola TBCA Thanksgiving Basketball Tournament

All-Tournament Team

Khristen Francis, C. I. Gibson

Oatman Lightbourne, CIG

Carlos Carey, CIG

C. J. Good, Science Hill

Calvin Songster, SH

Robert Joseph, Tabernacle Baptist

Rashad Rolle, TBCA

Keanu Woodside, Eight Mile Rock

Marques Tipton, Brainerd High

Ty Ryan, Cherokee High

Antwan Bevans, St. Georges

Most Valuable Player: Khristen Francis, C. I. Gibson

Coach of the Tournament: Kevin Johnson, C. I. Gibson

Dunk Champion: Quincy Porter, CIG

Points per game leader Top 10

Name Game Points Avg.

1. C. J. Good, Science Hill 5 105 21.0

2. Robert Joseph, Tabernacle 5 94 18.8

3. Ty Ryan, Cherokee High, 4 71 17.7

3. Antwan Bevans, St. Georges 4 71 17.7

5. Keanu Woodside, Eight Mile Rock 5 87 17.4

6. Keno Russell, STG 4 66 16.5

7. Khristen Francis, CIG 5 67 13.4

8. Kendrick Davis, STG 4 47 11.7

9. Rashad Russell, TBCA 5 56 11.2

10. Deandre Jones, EMR 5 52 10.4

Current Issue
Current Issue

Click here to see, download more print issues

Event Calendar
1 2 3 4
26 27 28 29 30 31

Click here to submit an event.

Most Popular